ICE SANCTUARY – PHOTO OF THE MONTH DECEMBER 2012

The photograph of the month for December is from Wilhemina Bay in Antarctica. Some of the most beautiful and unusual icebergs we encountered on my last expedition to Antarctica were found in both the Gerlache Strait and Wilhemnia Bay. This particular photograph was taken in Wilhemina Bay as we slowly cruised the area looking for icebergs. We were fortunate to encounter more or less continual snow fall with dark brooding skies during much of our time in these areas which proved simply wonderful for photography. I will be heading back to both Wilhemina Bay and the Gerlache Strait on my November 2013 Antarctic Expedition with my good friend Daniel Bergmann. There are still a few places available on this expedition if you would like to join me.Ice Sanctuary

3 Comments

  1. Posted December 4, 2012 at 4:24 am | Permalink | Reply

    Execellent blog, so many truly wonderful photos. I really look forward to follow you!
    Greetings from the Far North
    Dina

  2. Posted December 2, 2012 at 9:11 pm | Permalink | Reply

    incredible photo! love it, it makes me want to go to places like this.

  3. Posted December 2, 2012 at 8:19 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Hi Joshua – mouth-watering!! I can’t wait!! I’m back to Iceland on Saturday with a couple of great guys that Chris and I were with in Norway and Sweden (and Finland for coffee!!), chasing the aurora: Antony Spencer and David Clapp. We had a great time chasing round the countryside, and they had a couple of spots for Iceland that they opened up. Sadly, a bit far for Chris, but I am looking forward to “getting to grips” properly with Iceland. Meanwhile, I have had a gear overhaul and am selling off a ton of old Canon lenses to become a Zeiss snob, as one friend (?!) called me. It was reading Daniel’s Iceland Landscapes that alerted me to the Zeiss 21, and I am about to get a Zeiss 35-70, instead of my 16-35 I, which gives green and purple icebergs, and an ancient 28-70, which is coming apart, and probably not worth fixing. Glad we’ll be cruising slowly – manual focus will be a different concept for me. Wow, that zeiss is super tack sharp – just have to hold the boat still for me now!! All for now, Cheers, Sarah

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

