MOUNT BUFFALO – THE CASTLE

It’s December and it is now summer here in Australia – my least favourite time of year for photography. Autumn and Winter are my preferred seasons for landscape work. I far prefer the cooler weather and the snow and ice of the alpine regions to the blazing heat and humidity of the Australian summer (I should live in Scotland!). During Autumn and Winter the air is usually cleaner and the light tends to have a more transparent quality to it that lends itself very well to landscape photography. Looking back at some of the photography from the cooler months of the year this one jumps out as one of my favourites.

This photograph was taken at a location known as ‘The Castle’ at Mount Buffalo in the Victorian alps at sunrise. The location is not often visited as the walk in is fairly steep and arduous; particularly in winter. This is not the first time I have photographed here but it is the first time I have been lucky enough to get really beautiful light in combination with a lovely hoar frost. Combined with the reflection in the icy pool and the wildflowers this is a photograph I like very much.

The Castle

2 Comments

  1. David
    Posted December 3, 2009 at 6:46 am | Permalink | Reply

    Wow! This is a wonderful photograph. The light and color is amazing!

  2. Unknown
    Posted December 2, 2009 at 3:43 am | Permalink | Reply

    I love your new posting of Mt Buffalo. Just catching that reflection in the pond gives a beautiful scene a very nice finishing touch. Well done on the whole scene.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

