NEW ZEALAND FOX GLACIER – ICE TORN

This is one of my favourite photographs from my time at Fox Glacier in the South Island of New Zealand (I have a large framed print on my studio wall). For me this photograph summarises the beauty, power and danger of a glacier. The deep crevices are clearly in frame with their precipitous ice walls; which naturally lead my eye into and through the photograph to the background distant mountains. I also very much like the ‘rip’ in the ice – indicative of the power and pressure of glacial ice as it makes its way down the mountain side. The mist and fog hanging between the mountains in the distance adds the ‘weather element’ that is so much a part of mountain photography.  We were fortunate throughout the time spent at Fox Glacier to have wonderful clear weather that allowed us the opportunity to charter a small helicopter for the best possible photographic opportunities.

Ice Torn

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

