WILDLIFE PORTRAITS PROJECT – AN AUSSIE ICON AT HEALESVILLE

I am used to seeing wildlife along the Yarra River when I am out riding my mountain bike through the bush at dusk. Its usually Kangaroos and Tiger snakes (in the summer months), with the occasional Echidna and the usual assortment of native birds such as Kookaburras. I almost never have my camera with me  unfortunately, so am unable to photograph them (mountain biking with a 300mm lens strapped to my back doesn’t sound like fun!) . This time however I left the bike at home and went out specifically to photograph wildlife at Healesville. This very co-operative baby Koala proceeded to pose for me whilst I rattled off a dozen or so frames. Light levels were quite low so I had to punch up the ISO to 800 to get a 1/200th of a second shutter speed at f3.2 handheld with the 300mm F2.8L IS.

Aussie Icon

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

