WILDLIFE PORTRAITS PROJECT – SNOW LEOPARD

The third photograph in my 2010 Wildlife Portraits Project is a of a Snow Leopard in profile. Probably my favourite of the big cats for its cute factor alone; I have had several attempts over the years to get a good photograph of a Snow Leopard. Unfortunately, they have not eventuated  for various reasons; usually because the Leopard was in hiding or at least partially obscured. The Melbourne Zoo enclosure for the Snow Leopard is not what I would call photographer friendly (or even Leopard friendly for that matter) with its thick bars and dense undergrowth it presents a challenge requiring a degree of patience (and luck). This photograph was one of the last I took for the day as the light was fading. I like it very much for the clean overall profile and the keen glare in the Leopard’s eye.

Snow Leopard in Profile

One Comment

  1. Posted May 22, 2010 at 5:23 am | Permalink | Reply

    Very nice image. I like the super sharp focus on the eye. An unusual POV, well done.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

