ICELAND – SELFOSS

Just a short ten minute walk upstream from Europe’s largest waterfall ‘Dettifoss’ is the spectacular waterfall(s) ‘Selfoss’. Unlike the sheer might and power of Dettifoss, Selfoss consists of a large number of smaller waterfalls all cascading over a long rocky ledge on both sides of the ravine. It is as spectacular and awe inspiring as Detifoss and can be photographed from both sides of the river. This photograph was taken shortly after sunrise as the rising sun just kissed the lip of the rocky backdrop. This was probably the most challenging photograph I made in Iceland. I was standing in the middle of a huge plume of spray that had soaked both me and my camera gear. Everything, including my lens, camera and ND filter were wet. This was one of only a few frames that I managed to get where the LEE filter was not covered in water droplets. A higher resolution copy of this photograph is on my portfolio website at http://www.jholko.com in the Iceland section. Prints available on request.

Selfoss Torrent

One Trackback

  1. […] year also received Highly Commended Bronze Awards including ‘Walls of China‘, ‘Molten Silver Torrent‘ and ‘Highway To Hell‘. ‘Highway To Hell’ has also previously been […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

