ICELAND – THE WELL OF LIFE

There are certain photographs that are immediately ‘other worldly’ emotive and I think this one may qualify. Located at a remote location called Hveravellir, deep in the interior of Iceland this geothermal pool is well off the beaten track of bitumen roads and civilisation. The seventy mile rocky track into Hveravellir from Gullfoss is about as rough and bone jarring as any in Iceland. Liberally sprinkled with blind corners, rocks the size of soccer balls and deep ruts its a challenge for even the hardiest of 4-wheel drives. I passed two broken down cars on the way into Hveravellir and I dont think my rental Jeep’s suspension will ever be the same; there is also a serious question mark over the ‘check engine’ light.

I first saw a photograph of this deep blue geothermal pool several years ago and since that moment have wanted to visit this amazing location. I took this photograph just after sunset – you can see there is still a faint glow in the distant sky over the glacier. The sulphurous steam rising off the pool and silica growth around the pool give an appearance not of this world – indeed the whole landscape is quite alien. Hveravellir was a must-visit location for my trip to Iceland and I am thrilled with this photograph from my time there. A higher resolution version of this photograph is on my Portfolio website in the Iceland section. Prints of this photograph are available on request.

Well of Life

One Comment

  1. Posted September 4, 2010 at 6:15 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Wow this photograph is truly amazing! I love the cold blue tones in it :)

3 Trackbacks

  1. […] today. I had a real epic getting out of Hveravellir on this first trip and subsequently wrote a short blog piece about my experience and the travel that went into the making of this image. I recently retold this […]

  2. […] and leading photograph – ‘Selfoss Before Storm’. The folio also includes ‘Well of Life‘ and ‘Blue Berg‘. Silvershotz has a wonderfully diverse selection of photography […]

  3. […] The International Loupe Awards for 2011 (formally known as the International Aperture Awards) seem to have snuck up on me this year and I was not aware that images were already in the stages of being judged until early this morning when I was notified via email that my personal favourite photograph from Iceland  (A photograph I titled ‘Well of Life’) had won a Gold Award in the Open Landscape Category. ‘Well of Life’ is a photograph near and dear to my heart for many reasons. For me it epitomises the unique geological features of Iceland in a truly alien landscape. And secondly, it came about through a combination of sheer determination, willingness to go the extra mile (literally) and of course a little bit of luck. You can read the full story on the making of this photograph HERE. […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

