ICELAND – BURNING BURG AT THE LAGOON

I spent quite a bit of time at the Jokulsarlon glacial lagoon whilst I was in Iceland. It is truly a magical place for photography whilst simultaneously being extraordinarily difficult from a composition perspective. The lagoon can be virtually empty, or jam packed with ice depending on the somewhat fickle prevailing weather and changing moods of the Vatnajokull glacier; which carves directly into the lagoon.

Sunset generally produced the best light in my experience; offering the opportunity for warm back lit icebergs against the cool dark of the glacial water. Sometimes however, even in Iceland the best light lasts only seconds; as was the case when I took this photograph. This was one of around 400 frames I shot over the course of a few hours at the lagoon and is the only one that best captures the light I was after.

Burning Berg

One Comment

  1. Canon Lover
    Posted September 25, 2010 at 2:04 am | Permalink | Reply

    Beautifully subtle light. Wish I had been there!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

