DRAGON EGGS – MOERAKI BOULDERS NEW ZEALAND

One of the locations I most wanted to visit during my recent trip to the South Island of New Zealand was the Moeraki Boulders. The Moeraki boulders are located on the East Coast of the South Island not far from Dunedin. The area is so named for the large and highly unusual spherical boulders which are grouped together on the beach. Wikipedia has a good explanation of how these boulders formed as well as additional information about them. The boulders themselves are only a short five minute stroll from the car-park making them a very popular tourist attraction. I was fortunate during my visit to the boulders that I had the entire location to myself at both sunrise and sunset on two occasions – one of the benefits of shooting in the dead of winter I guess.

Dragon Eggs

I took this photograph not long before sunset as the tide was going out on a very overcast stormy afternoon. I actually prefer sunset at the Moeraki boulders even though the sun sets behind the photographer and is lost behind mountains quite early in the afternoon. I found sunrise somewhat problematic as so many of the boulders are deep in shadow and the moment the sun rises it is hard to exclude the sun from the frame if shooting wide angle lenses. That said, I do have some photographs from sunrise that I like very much and will post over the coming days.

I used Canon’s 17mm Wide Angle TSE lens for this photograph. A higher resolution version of this photograph is available for viewing on my primary portfolio website at www.jholko.com under New Zealand.

4 Comments

  1. Ben Coope
    Posted March 1, 2012 at 2:13 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Great photo, i cant wait to visit this location later this year.

  2. Posted July 9, 2011 at 8:01 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Stunning picture!

  3. Posted July 9, 2011 at 2:47 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Fantastic shot, Moeraki is an amazing place :-)

  4. Joy
    Posted July 9, 2011 at 12:28 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Great shot! I love the motion and the colors.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

