SUMATRAN TIGER – WILDLIFE PORTRAITS PROJECT

It has been a long time since I have last posted a wildlife photograph but I had a good opportunity / excuse a couple of weeks ago to test out my new Canon 1D MKIV at the Melbourne Zoo (I guess that makes it ‘quasi-wild’). This was simply an opportunity to machine gun through a few hundred frames to make sure the camera was performing properly before taking it to Antarctica. Unfortunately for me, I made the mistake of journeying to the zoo during school holidays when it was literally swarming with kids. As a result most animals had retreated to the farthest corners of their enclosures in search of a little peace and quiet (can’t say I blame them!). Nevertheless I was able to come away with a few photographs I was quite pleased with. This photograph of the Sumatran Tiger being my pick of the bunch for the soft light and classical pose. I don’t often process black and white; but in this instance I felt it helped to give the image a somewhat timeless feel and complimented the Tigers classic pose.

Sumatran Tiger

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

