INVERSION – SVARTIFOSS WATERFALL ICELAND

Svartifoss waterfall is located in the Skaftafell National Park in Iceland. It is one of the smaller popular waterfalls and only a short walk from the nearby car park and not far from the main Highway one ring road. The falls themselves are quite unusual with inverted hexagonal basalt columns in a semi circular ring over which the falls cascade onto toppled columns before flowing down stream. Its a beautiful, tranquil and peaceful location when the sun is out and the wind is calm.

I only spent a couple of hours at Svartifoss early in the day and was fortunate to strike relatively overcast conditions that enabled me to slow my shutter speed down to get just the right amount of water blur without the need for ND filters. I used Canon’s 17mm F4L Tilt Shift lens for; which enabled me to get in nice and tight, yet keep the subject in frame. I am looking forward to going back to Svartifoss on my Iceland trip next year.

Inversion

2 Comments

  1. Posted October 23, 2011 at 9:16 am | Permalink | Reply

    Very nice photo; good thing for cloudy skies! :)

  2. Posted October 22, 2011 at 8:14 pm | Permalink | Reply

    cool!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

