ANTARCTICA DISPATCH #1 – LEAVING FOR BUENOS AIRES

Pinch me and call me excited! After a year and a half of waiting the date of departure has finally arrived and I am flying out very early AM tomorrow morning for Buenos Aires on my way to Ushuaia and then Antarctica. I booked this expedition well over a year ago now and to be honest; much like a child waiting for Christmas it just felt like it was never going to get here. Antarctica has been a long time dream for me and my shutter finger is itching to starting loosing some frames amongst my favourite subjects (icebergs and glaciers) at the bottom of the world. There is quite a bit of travel ahead of me over the next 5-6 days including two days sailing across the notorious Drake passage; but I am looking forward to the first ice sighting off the bow very much.

I am going to do my best to keep my blog up-to-date throughout the trip; however, once we board the Ocean Nova and set sail for Antarctica there will be no internet access and updates will have to be posted when we get back to Ushuaia at the conclusion of the trip. Although Antarctica is well and truly the primary focus of this trip I am also looking forward to spending a couple of days in Buenos Aires with my good friend Martyn before we head south to the small town of Ushuaia at the bottom of South America. From Ushuaia we sail for Antarctica. I am not at all prone to sea sickness and to date have never suffered from any kind of motion sickness. Nevertheless I am taking no chances in the wilds of the Drake passage and am packing patches and tablets just in case. The only time I plan to be leaning over the side of the ship is to take photographs – not to loose my lunch.

I have had a lot of time to consider what photographic equipment to take me with on this trip and if you have been following my blog you will have probably noticed that I was pretty much considering taking ‘everything’. Nothings changed – I have packed every piece of glass and camera in my arsenal lest I find myself in a situation where I want and need, but don’t have. It means I am schlepping some considerable weight and bulk in camera equipment through airports etc.; but once I get onto the ship I can pretty much unload and take what I feel I need on individual zodiac and shore excursions. It should be very exciting and I have all fingers and toes crossed for some amazing Antarctic light. See you in Buenos Aires in a day or so…

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

